Lana Suran is one of the leading Scandinavian pianists of her generation and 2nd Prize winner of the prestigious Verão Clássico Award (2020), winner of the Mannes Steinway Award (2019) and the Swedish Paskéll Prize (2015).

1st Prize winner of the Berlingske Tidendes Musikkonkurrence in Denmark, Peter Jablonski Competition and RUM Competition for Young Soloists in Sweden, Lana won 1st Prize at the First Swedish Steinway Competition in 2001 and has since been hailed by critics for her “unique poetry and musical drama”. She is the 2nd Prize winner of the 17th Young Musician International Competition Cittá di Barletta, 3rd Prize winner of the Rovere d’Oro International Competition, Special Prize winner of the Val Tidone International Competition “Premio Bengalli” in Italy and recipient of multiple scholarships and special awards from the Swedish Academy of Music. 


Lana has performed in all major halls in Sweden including Berwaldhallen, Konserthuset, Dunkers Kulturhus, Kulturhuset Ytterjärna and Kristinehallen in Falun. She gave her debut performance at Göteborg Konserthus at the age of eight and played her debut recital at Helsingborg Piano Festival at the age of twenty-one alongside Marc André-Hamelin and Haochen Zhang. She has played in renowned festivals such as Festival Internacional de Música de Esmeraldas in Quito, ICMF Stavanger, Musica Mundi Chamber Music Festival, Giresta Musik, PianoSummer at New Paltz, Art of the Piano Festival, Internationaal Kammarmuziek Festivaal Schiermonnikoog and From Easter to Ascension Festival in Tbilisi.  She has also given recitals in France, Germany, Portugal, Norway, Ukraine and appeared in venues across the United States including Weill Recital Hall, Alice Tully Hall, Bargemusic and Jordan Hall. The 2020-2021 Season includes performances in Belgium, U.S.A, Denmark and Sweden.

Lana has made concerto appearances with Dalasinfoniettan and the Napolinova Chamber Orchestra and has appeared in live recordings for both Swedish and foreign Radio and Television. Notable chamber music collaborations include performances with Philippe Graffin, Andrey Baranov, Astrid Schween of the Juilliard Quartet, the Kodály String Quartet and Semplice Players in New York. She has participated in masterclasses and worked closely with Daniel Blendulf, Eduardo Delgado, Antonio Pompa-Baldi, Christian Ihle-Hadland, Simon Crawford-Phillips, Peter Friis Johansson, Richard Goode, Emanuel Krasovsky, Eldar Nebolsin, Vivian Hornik-Weilerstein, Donald Weilerstein, Paul Biss, Lucy Chapman, Laurence Lesser, Tomas Riebl, Raphael Oleg, Hans Leygraf, Lang-Lang, Peter Takaczs, Marianna Shirinyan, Vladimir Feltsman, Haesun Paik, Per Tengstrand Oxana Yablonskaya, Leif Ove Andsnes and members of the Borromeo String Quartet. 

Lana performed “Songs of Insurrection” by Frederic Rzewski for the composer at his 80th birthday celebration at Mannes in 2018 and recorded the world premiere of "…such words as it were vain to close…” for solo piano by J.K Randall on the New York label OpenSpace in 2019. 

Born to Russian/Kurdish parents in 1992, Lana began her musical studies at the age of six with Victoria and Elena Power at Musikskolan Lilla Akademien in Stockholm. Lana moved to the United States at the age of sixteen to pursue studies with Hung Kuan Chen and Tema Blackstone at the Walnut School for the Arts. She holds degrees from New England Conservatory of Music and Mannes School of Music under the tutelage of Alexander Korsantia and Ursula Oppens. Lana is represented by Aljosja Classical Artists in the Netherlands and is currently Artist in Residence at the Queen Elisabeth Music Chapel studying with Louis Lortie and Avedis Kouyoumdjian and pursuing her Solist Diplom at the Royal Danish Academy of Music with Jens Elvekjær. 

© 2020 by Lana Suran